Graduation Day – May 12, 2013

Today I graduated with an Associate’s Degree in Applied Accounting. What, you might ask, is a graphic designer doing going to college for a degree in accounting? Well, several years ago I decided that, being good with numbers and having an excellent memory for them, an Accounting degree would be the perfect way for me to work from home and earn a good income. Little did I know that barely a year into the program I would find out that I really disliked accounting quite a bit.

Already being a year in, however, made it seem like to stop then would be a waste, since I had convinced myself that the degree was for the betterment of my family. After all, my kids would benefit, my husband would benefit, and I would benefit from all the time I would be able to spend at home while making money.

[Insert GROAN here]

During this time I was doing various design projects for friends and family, as well as playing a large part in the bookkeeping and design aspects of my husband’s new business. It was about this time that *gasp* I learned people actually called themselves Graphic Designers, and that they made money doing it! From home!! Successfully!!!

That is when I started the final two years it took to acquire the accounting degree while daydreaming about opening my own graphic design business and embarking on a career that I could honestly say I LOVED. Which is why this fall I will be changing my major to Art and will decide if I want to purse the BA or the BFA with a concentration in drawing. I have a lot to think about as far as my future is concerned.

Don’t worry, the accounting degree comes in handy every single day. As I said before, I do the bookkeeping for my husband’s business although we do outsource the end-of-the-year accounting to a good friend of ours. Maybe someday I will tackle that, but for now I am comfortable with using my limited accounting expertise to adequately perform all bookkeeping tasks for the business as well as to use those skills in the start-up of my own business. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

